BLOG · BOOK REVIEW · BOOKS

Book Review: Ruined (but it didn’t ruin me)

2016-10-08_07.12.34_2[1].jpg

BOOK DETAILS:
Paperback, 338 pages
Published July 1st 2015 by Createspace Independent Publishing Platform

SYNOPSIS:

The duke of Ashton sits at the Opera at Vauxhall Gardens, bored out of his mind, and plans murder.
He curses the day that brought the little governess, destitute and sad, at his door eight months ago, to upset his careless if a bit meaningless existence.
How could he have guessed the terrible, evil secrets she was hiding? And now that he knows all, the truth appears wilder, even more despicable than even he could have imagined. He hadn’t counted on losing his heart to her, of course, but he did.

What he doesn’t know is that a tendril of the shadows of madness and sin that followed Beatrice to his door is still out there, looking for something to devour.
The only one who can save him from the darkness is the girl herself, but he knows he’ll never see her again. He who once prided himself on his indifference to other human beings, feels his chest constrict with pain every time he even thinks of her.

Beatrice, smart, gentle, kind-hearted, lovely.
Ruined.

An ebook copy of this book was sent to me by Ms. M.C. Frank for an honest review. 😁

MY REVIEW:

First things first, I HAVE NOT READ JANE EYRE YET. (shame on me) So if ever I’m being biased on my review here, please don’t get offended. 🙂 Anyway, I first saw this book on #bookstagram and I was immediately ensnared by its gorgeous cover. That’s why I did all what I could to snag a copy! Unfortunately, it did not live up to my expectations.

giphy-3

The book is set in the 1800s era so obviously, it is somewhat narrated in kind of Elizabethan English. The author created a “medieval” kind of atmosphere that immediately engulfed me. I even pictured myself as one of those ladies who’s wearing a ballgown and a fabulous hat!

Honestly, the writing is not my cup of tea, so to speak. I am not fond of beating-around-the-bush prose that keeps me running around in circles. I know that the author wants to further explain some details but for me, they were a bit irrelevant. Also, I’m sometimes confused as to who’s POV I’m reading about. I kept scrolling back to the chapter’s page to know who’s POV. And it was a hassle!

I’m somewhat hopeless romantic but I honestly did not like those over-the-top cheesy lines and scenes. I also did not like the somewhat “sensual” scenes of Beatrice and Dominic. For me, it was like Dominic was posed as a “pedophile” because of their age gap. I was cringing at some of the scenes and even skipped reading some. EEEEEEEWWWWW

Yes, there were some twists added to the story to “spice it up”. And yes, they somewhat enhanced the story but I still did not like the novel. For me, it was like reading a real life story about a rich pedophile hiring a beautiful young girl and uses her naivety and vulnerability to seduce her.

Sorry if you are reading this and you are now beginning to hate me. Sorry Miss MC Frank if I did not appreciate your work, unlike your other avid readers.

*****

They say age doesn’t matter. They say your status in life doesn’t matter. What matters is that you truly love each other. Xoxo

MY RATING: ❤️❤️❤️

Leave a Reply

